Nested Knowledge

Bringing Systematic Review to Life

User Tools

Site Tools


wiki:autolit:admin:configure

Nest Settings

The Settings page allows you to create and edit a nest description and nest protocol, as well as manage User Keywords. Only the Owner and Admins of a nest can view its Settings page.

Administrative functions are split into Nest-level Admin functions and Organization-level Admin functions.

  • For Organization-level Admin functions, see Manage Organizations.
  • Exception: if you are giving an Organization access to a nest, that is a Nest-level Admin function under the Groups tab under the Collaborators panel, not the Manage Organizations page.

—-

1. Add and Manage Users

Add or remove User and/or Admin privileges for your specific nest. To learn how to do so for individuals or organizations, see the Manage Users and Admins page.


2. Synthesis

From the Synthesis section, you can toggle 'on' or 'off' any Synthesis page:

  • Toggle on or off Quantitative Synthesis, Qualitative Synthesis, Manuscript, ROB, or PRISMA. If toggled off, that specific subsection will be greyed out in the Synthesis homepage.

Adjust the privacy/publicity of your Synthesis page to be Public, Protected, or Private:

  • Make a nest public. Toggle this on to make the link to your Synthesis page (and all sub-pages) publicly viewable.
  • Make a nest protected. Toggle this on to make the link to Synthesis undiscoverable and inaccessible to those without the key (or explicitly granted access). You will still be able to share a link with external parties, and the external party will not have to log in to view Synthesis.
  • Make a nest private. Toggle this on for the most protection. Only those explicitly granted access with a NK account will be able to view the Synthesis.


3. Screening

Screening Modes: Standard vs. Dual vs. Two-Pass Screening

As an Admin, you can configure the Screening Mode to be:

Standard Screening means that each record will be screened by one user in a single session. The user will have the option of designating “Full Text Review”, but there is no separate Full Text step.

Two-Pass Screening means that each record will be screened at the Abstract level by one user, and advanced to a second, separate Full Text screening step, where the record must have a full text PDF uploaded and a final Screening decision made by a single user.

Dual Screening means that each record will be screened by two different users and adjudicated by a third.

Toggling between Standard, Two-Pass, and Dual Screening (see image) can lead to loss of data, as only the final Inclusion and Exclusion decisions will be saved if you switch between Screening Modes!

Inclusion Prediction Model

Manual vs. Automatic: By default, the Inclusion Prediction Model for Screening will be on Manual, meaning that it will only run when a user selects Train Inclusion Model. Toggling the Inclusion Prediction Model to on (see image above) will alter this so that the Model runs as soon as a sufficient number of studies are screened, and this Model will be re-run automatically as more screening occurs.

Displayed vs. Hidden: By default, the Inclusion Prediction Model will be displayed, meaning that any user will be able to see the predictions on the Screening panel:

If you want this prediction to be hidden from all users, Admins, and Owners on each individual study, toggle “Hide Probabilities.” If hidden, you can still run the model from the Admin page and have the option to turn on Automatic updating.

Import Existing Screening Decisions

If there are screening decisions from a previous nest that are relevant to your current nest, you can import existing screening decisions for any record already in your nest by uploading a spreadsheet. To do this, under Screening on the Settings page, selecting “Begin” under Import.

4. Tagging

Tagging can be completed in Standard mode, or you can turn on Form-based Mode:

In this mode, you will need to set up Questions in your hierarchy that are answered for each study.

Import Existing Tags

If there are tags from a previous nest that are relevant to your current nest, you can import existing tags for any record already in your nest by uploading a spreadsheet. To do this, under Tagging on the Settings page, selecting “Begin” under Import.


5. Extraction

Extraction Modes: Standard vs. Dual

As an Admin, you can configure the Extraction Mode to be:

Standard Extraction means that each record will be extracted only once.

Dual Extraction means that each record will be extracted by two different users and adjudicated by a third. To toggle Dual Extraction 'on', select it in the Admin page:

6. Risk of Bias

Choose a Risk of Bias system. Learn more about Configuring Risk of Bias


7. Jobs

The Jobs header in Settings enables you to view all active, completed, and failed Jobs (such as recurring searches, PDF import, etc.) that are running in the background in your nest.

In some cases, such as running searches in Literature Search or Search Exploration, an active job will restrict new activities, such as adding a new search while that Job is active.

Click “View Jobs” to view active, completed, and failed Jobs.

8. Copying, Renaming, or Deleting a Nest

Copying a nest will copy the data and configurations, such as the search terms, references, exclusion reasons, the tagging hierarchy, applied tags, data elements, full-text PDFs, Risk of Bias Assessments, the protocol and manuscript, and other configurations. The copied nest is entirely independent of the original nest. Access privileges will not be copied from the old nest and must be configured.

Only Owners have the right to delete a nest. “Delete” can be found next to “Rename”; deleting a nest is irreversible and will completely delete all data related to the project in question!


Deleting a nest has wide-reaching and irreversible effects, including loss of all nest data. Proceed with caution!

wiki/autolit/admin/configure.txt · Last modified: 2022/12/07 18:09 by kevinkallmes